Where Do We Go From Here?

This blog is starting to become a bit like my life in general. I’m not exactly sure what it should be or the topics it should cover, but I want something deeper and more meaningful than what it originally started out as. At some point I’m going to need to write out some clear concise goals on what I wish to accomplish with this site.

My life is coming to a crossroads (heck, we may already be at the crossroad) and I realize there’s a lot more I can do in life that what I’m doing right now. I’m not a fan of change for the sake of change and it drives me nuts when I hear people making resolutions to make change in their lives. In most cases those resolutions end up being hollow promises.

I know that to reach some of the goals I want to reach requires me to change the way I’m currently addressing things. As Albert Einstein once said “The definition of insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results.” To make these changes happen in my life I must change the HABITS I currently have in place.

Up until recently, I felt my life was trending in the wrong direction.

  • I was starting to pile on excess weight.
  • I wasn’t exercising as the doctor recommended and I was going to have some issues with my blood pressure if I continued down the path I was on.
  • My finances were starting to take control of me and I know it should be the other way around.
  • I wasn’t happy with my career.

I’ve addressed the weight issue by changing the way I eat. I now eat a rather spartan diet full of fruits and vegetables. I eat as much of those fruits and vegetables as I want and I’ve cut most of the bread, rice, cereals and pastas from my diet. I am struggling to eat healthy on the weekends but I’ve managed to take off close to 20 pounds over the last 60 days. I feel like I’ve got another 15 pounds to go but I’m happy that I’ve made the progress I have thus far.

I’ve gotten into a more regular pattern of exercise. I make sure I fit in at least 4 days a week of walking at least one hour per day. I would like to get to the point where those walks turn into runs but I love the fact I’m starting to develop some sort of habit or regimen that I’m sticking to with some consistency. It ends up being a nice period of solitude for me and it’s a great way to freshen my mind.

I’m not sure what it is I want to do professionally, but I know I need a new challenge. The job/position I currently have bores me; I’ve evolved over the past few years and I need a position that provides me with some sort of challenge daily. I can’t continue to do the same thing day after day, week after week. I would love to do something for myself (which I’ve discussed in previous posts) but I’m not sure what that calling is just yet.

My personal life is the one area of my life where I’m happy. I am married to a fantastic lady and I have three wonderful kids who appear to be heading on the right path. Of course there is always room for improvement in all four of those relationships but I don’t think there’s anything of urgency that needs to be addressed. I know I should do a better job of focusing on each of them when we’re together because I know there are times I’m with them that I’m easily distracted.

The key for me is to develop good HABITS that I learn to follow CONSISTENTLY. The easiest way to make change is to pick a small area I want to improve and come up with simple everyday HABITS and follow them religiously. After a few weeks of following those HABITS they start to become something you follow without really paying attention.

This entry was posted in Mac's Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

