Finding Solitude

As a happily married father of three wonderful kids (ages 15, 13, and 8),  our household tends to be on the hectic side.  Mrs. Mac and I are running around non-stop making sure we get the kids to where they’re supposed to be.  We encourage the kids to have their friends over as much as possible so it’s very rare to have quiet time in our house.

I used to enjoy late night evenings to myself.  There was a time when the kids were in bed and asleep by 9 pm and it was not uncommon for Mrs. Mac to nod off for the night a little after them.  I used to love that 10 pm to midnight window when I could plod around the house and enjoy the quiet.

Those days have now come to an end.  It’s now a battle to get the two teenagers to sleep before 11 on a school night or before 1 (or later) on the weekend.  That’s not going to change anytime soon (in fact, they won’t be in the house until later than that not too far down the road) and I’ve already got my 8 year old begging every night to stay up past his bedtime at 9.

I have been kicking around the idea of trying to adjust my sleep schedule so that I can become one of those “early risers”.  I have never been a morning person and I don’t know if that is something that is even in my nature.  I shake my head in wonder at my father in law who habitually rises at 4:30 or 5:00 every morning and has done so for over 40 years.  He talks of how great it is to get up and enjoy his solitude at that time of morning.  He loves the sense of accomplishment he takes in getting things done before most people are out of bed.

I wonder how my life would change if I got myself out of bed at 5 am each morning?  The only thing I know for certain is that I would drift off to slip before 10 pm each night. Other than that, the possibilities are endless.   I could go out and exercise, which is traditionally something I do on my lunch break.  I could sit down and blog, which is something I traditionally do at times of the day I should be focusing on other tasks.

That’s a goal for me to start on Monday morning. I’m going to try and get up at 5 am all next week and see what I get accomplished in my 90 minutes of solitude before the house starts to awaken.  I’m guessing I’ll be hankering for sleeping in at some point over the following weekend.

This entry was posted in Mac's Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

