Looking for a Blog to Follow?

If I could recommend one blog for you to follow, it would be Seth Godin’s.

It’s the first feed I look to everyday when I open up my Google Reader. Godin posts with clock like regularity and his writings are full of fresh and innovative ideas. I am not a fan of the phrase “look outside the box” but that term sums up Godin completely.

Seth is a marketer by nature who appears to make a comfortable living as a public speaker. He has written 16 books and is the founder of the community website Squidoo. He is currently spearheading a project he’s titled the Domino Project which I think will have a profound effect on how books are brought to the marketplace in the near future.

I find him to be an inspirational figure because he preaches two important business principles:

  1. The importance of cultivating a tribe
  2. The importance of “shipping” product

Godin describes a tribe as a group of people who share a connection or an idea with one another. Anyone is able to lead a tribe of people and one only needs to develop a small group of like minded individuals to make their idea or service into a profitable industry. When you pitch something to your tribe they will most likely be inclined to check it out.

In simplest terms, “shipping” means getting product into the marketplace. It doesn’t matter what the product is or what service you offer. That service could be anything: it could be an author or blogger’s writing, it could be a painter’s work of art, or it could be a widget maker’s widgets. The key is to get that item into the marketplace as quickly and/or consistently as possible.

  • Stop putting off doing the work.
  • Stop looking to find excuses why it might fail.
  • Do the work and get the product in front of the public.

I do not have a product or business that I run but I find his writings to be inspiring as I try to apply the lessons to my everyday lifestyle. I just started following his blog within the last 90 days and I’m amazed at the steady flow of fresh content that he posts. Since finding his blog I’ve also purchased a few of his books and I recommend those as well.

Check it out, you won’t be disappointed.

This entry was posted in Mac's Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Looking for a Blog to Follow?

  1. Claire says:

    I follow Seth too, not been as regular reading his posts; but you’ve remined me how good they are and I’m going to take time out to read them again.

Leave a Reply

