An Interview and a Quick Prediction

First of all, I wanted to take a moment to apologize for yesterday’s post. I’m trying to stick to the task of posting once per day to the blog and as I look back at yesterday’s effort it’s a bit embarrassing. My heart really wasn’t into doing the work and I think it shows in the net result.

There is a reason why I was lacking motivation to write that post, and I had alluded to it in a previous post. I had my big interview for a promotion yesterday and all of my energy over the past week has gone into making sure I was prepared for the moment.

The last time I was in this position I saw myself as the front runner for the post and I was a too full of myself. I didn’t take the time to properly prepare because I felt all I had to do was show up and the promotion was mine. Obviously that didn’t happen and I was devastated that I was “overlooked” for the job. I was really angry with my supervisor and felt like I’d been hard done.

After some time (a few months) to recollect what went wrong during that process, I realized that the blame for not getting that promotion fell solely on my shoulders. It was not easy to take that look into the mirror and realize the dope that screwed me over was really myself. Sometimes reality sucks.

I made a pact with myself that when the opportunity presented itself again that I was not going to make the same mistake.

Over the past 10 days I’ve spent a ton of time researching the position that I’m now applying for. I stayed after work on a couple of nights to run some sales reports and do an in depth analysis and forecast of the department I’m looking to take over.

I interviewed the current supervisor for well over an hour to get his take on what’s going on in his department as well as their strengths and weaknesses. I was able to find out which vendors were trending higher and which product lines were in trouble. I was also able to get him to share his vision on where the department should be headed in the future (both short and long term).

I pieced together a written proposal on where I wanted to take the department and presented it to the interviewer in advance of our meeting so he had time to look it over. I didn’t want to be at the interview simply to answer questions, I wanted to try and dictate the tone of the interview.

The last part of my preparation was to think about all the possible questions that might be asked and make sure I had a rehearsed answer for them. I didn’t want to be caught off guard or seem to be at a loss for words. This worked like a charm. I was never asked a question that had me flustered. The other bonus to this part of the game plan was that I had an entire week to craft each answer exactly as I wanted. I have no regrets about any of the answers I gave.

I think the interview went really well. I spent just shy of 90 minutes interviewing and I had a real positive vibe as I walked out of that office. It was a constant exchange of ideas between myself and the interviewer and I was able to get him to share some information that he gave in confidence. He was opening up to me about issues within his department and trying to get my insight on how I would address them.

I don’t know how things will shake out when things are all said and done. I am very happy with how I managed the entire process from start to finish and I’m proud of the fact that I took this opportunity and DID THE WORK in advance to position myself as best as I could.

If I don’t get this promotion I’ll be upset but at least this time I’ll know that I’m not the reason I didn’t get it. I don’t know what other political factors might play into the impending decision but I know I don’t have any control over those decisions; it’s out of my hands.

I’ll make a quick prediction: I think I will be offered the position by the end of next week.

One thing to note, I don’t have a great history of making predictions. 😉

This entry was posted in Mac's Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

