Can’t Leave Home Without It

I'm not exactly sure how or when it happened, but I now am at the point where I can't leave the house without my cell phone. 
 
It's funny how important my phone.  Due to the cost, I didn't even own a cell phone until 2001.  They used to be so expensive that only people with a lot of money or really "important" jobs had them.  I know I spent the bulk of my life getting by without having a phone at my side and as far as I can tell everything worked out OK. 
 
In 1998, I was working at Home Depot when Mrs. Mac was pregnant with out 2nd child. I borrowed a beeper from my Father-In-Law's company in case she went into labor and needed to get in touch with me.  Depending on your age you may not even remember that form of technology.

Beeper

 
I have no issue leaving the house without my wallet or car keys depending on where I'm off to, but the phone is always at my side.  I've even gotten to the point where I have it with me when I'm off to exercise.
 
I have a Samsung Intercept Android phone (albeit a ghetto version) but I love the fact that I have access to everything when I have it with me.  When they say these phones are "smart phones" they aren't exaggerating.  Here's a few of the creature comforts my phone provides:
 
  • I'm always available to my wife and kids should they need me via text or phone call. 
  • I've got a camera in case I see something that's picture-worthy. 
  • I have access to my calendar to help me plan things on the spot. 
  • I have internet access, which gives me access to news, email, photos, etc.
  • It's an mp3 player with my favorite songs downloaded to it.
  • I'm able to download all the podcasts I listen to.
  • I run the phone through my car stereo speakers to keep me entertained on my commute.
  • I'm able to read Kindle books from my Amazon account.
 
Intercept-leak

Moving forward, I can only see the cell phone becoming an even bigger part of our every day existence.
This entry was posted in Mac's Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

