Oh to Be a Better Dancer

If you were given the choice of becoming a better singer or better dancer, which would you choose?

This is an easy choice for me.  I don't feel as if I'm overly talented at either, but I am able to sing out loud in church and other functions without being completely mortified.  I regularly belt out tunes with the kids in the car (although I'm not sure if they enjoy that?). I don't know how bad my singing is but I haven't had anyone ask me to stop.

I also make it a point to remind my family that I am officially an award winning singer.  As shocking as that may sound I did win the 6th grade award for chorus at Collegeville-Trappe Elementary school in the spring of 1981.  I know that was pre-puberty and my voice has changed a bit since then, but an award is an award.  I wonder if that plaque is still hanging in the main hallway right outside of the principal's office?

Goofy_dancing-283542

On the other hand, my dancing is a disgrace.  It's no exaggeration when I say I'm a terrible dancer.  I have little to no rhythm and each time I try to put the effort in I tend to get some sort of negative feedback (either from my wife or my family).  I have been medically diagnosed with flat feet so I'm thinking that might also play into the equation.

I hate using stereotypes, but even for a white man I have no rhythm.  I would love to be one of those guys that gets out there on the dance floor and dances the night away but I just don't have it in me.  I'm not even sure that dancing lessons would help me out.  It's a bummer because I think Mrs. Mac would really enjoy a night or two out dancing with her husband.
This entry was posted in Mac's Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

