My Computer History

Technology becomes a bigger part of our lives on a daily basis and I can't see how that trend is ever going to change.  It's gotten to the point that we just take the ability to be connected for granted.  Heck, my cell phone is probably 50 times faster and more productive than the first few computers I owned.

I remember what a huge investment a computer used to be.  They really didn't start to become affordable until sometime in the past five years.  It was the kind of item that you used to save up for or put on some kind of financing plan.  I grew up using a computer all the way through college, but it wasn't something I owned.  At that time you would head over to a library and fight to get on a public terminal.  

For those of you who went to school in the late 80's or early 90's, you probably still remember trudging over to the library or technology center to write your papers.  Before leaving your dorm room you had to make sure that you packed your box full of pre-formatted floppy disks.

Floppy_disc
  

Why floppy disks?  The served two purposes.  First, they were needed to load a word processing program onto the university machines (I think we used WordPerfect at the time?) each time you logged on.  Second, you would have to save your work to a floppy disc to have a copy.

The first time I owned a computer was in 1994.  Mrs. Mac was working on her MBA (pre-kids) at the time and we were newlyweds.  I thought it would be cool for her to stay home to work on her school work after work instead of having to head over to the library, which got old.  I ended up getting the computer for her for Christmas that year and we've had one in the house ever since.

At the time I was working retail and although we had some in store programs to help us enter order or to look up pricing and inventory I wasn't a regular computer user.  I really didn't begin to use a computer full time until I started my current job back in the summer of 1999.

Now I can't imagine a day without being connected.  We've got four laptops strewn around the house and I also have access to my Android cell phone.  I'm able to hop online at any time and find what I'm looking for.

I'm not sure if that's a good thing?
This entry was posted in Mac's Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

