My Favorite Gift

Without a doubt the greatest gift I ever received was my snowblower.  It was given to me as a Christmas present by my mom and I couldn’t begin to calculate the amount of work it has saved me.  All I know is I don’t stress as the snow starts to accumulate because I know I’ll be able to deal with it without having a heart attack.

Img_20110402_130821

It’s nothing out of the ordinary (Troy Bilt 5.5 HP) but it has brought me so much joy over the past eight winters.  It has an electric start which is great; I simply plug the extension chord into the machine, plug it into the wall, prime the engine a couple of times, and then push the button. Viola, it starts every single time without fail.  How cool is that?

It was a nice surprise gift from my mom.  Our last house had a nice sized driveway that was two cars wide at its smallest part and went three cars wide at the top.  It was about three to four car lengths deep so there was quite a bit of area to shovel. To top it all off, it was on an incline so I really had to bust my ass to get all the snow shoveled.  It would take me 90 minutes plus to get rid of four inches (or more) of snow.

The incline in the driveway was a bummer because it meant you had to deal with the snow fall or you wouldn’t be able to get the cars up into the garage.  As soon as you let it harden or ice up it was impossible to get to the top.  It was a steep incline as well.  I remember trying to push one of the cars into the garage and at one point the back of the car was at least chest high while I was pushing.

The driveway isn’t as difficult to deal with at our current house but the snowblower is still a huge time saver.  It’s just reassuring knowing that I can fire that bad boy up and have the driveway, sidewalk, and the neighbors driveway done within an hour.  It makes dealing with large amounts of snow into a pleasurable task.

It may not seem like much of a gift, but I can tell you it is easily my favorite.  I often joke that unlike my kids, my snowblower will always have a place in my house.  It’s that awesome!

This entry was posted in Mac's Ramblings and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

