Text or Talk?

I used to be one of those people that just didn't get the purpose of text messaging.  It seemed to be such an impersonal form of communication and I didn't get the allure to it.

Text_message_or_call

Fast forward a couple of years and I have to tell you, in most instances I prefer to send a text instead of making the phone call.  I acknowledge that it's not as personal as the phone call, but I love the fact that I can get my message across without having to go through the exercise of small talk to deliver it.

Remember the days you needed to get back to someone about something and you waited for a time in the day where you knew you would get their voice mail?  You had a message to get across to them but you didn't want to go through the process of having a conversation.  

I know this post is probably highlighting a bunch of my personality flaws.  I can't help it; I'm not one of those people that feels comfortable talking just for the sake of talking.  If I have a message to get a across it's one thing, but I'm not very gifted in the art of small talk.

I'm on the phone all day with my job, and the last thing I want to do when I get done work is to hop right back on the phone.  It's the same reason I can't be bothered to answer the phone when I'm at home.  I check out the caller id, realize the call isn't for me, and I let it go to voice mail.  I just don't feel like small talking with one of my wife's friends just to take down a message for her when I know the answering machine will accomplish the same task.  Odds are the answering machine will do a better job of delivering the message to her than I would. 

I still prefer email to text as a form of communication but the way of the world is trending towards text messaging.  I was reading where most college age students can't be bothered to use email, they prefer to get their point across via text.  I think that's odd with so many people having access to their email on their smart phone that the text is more popular.  140 characters doesn't seem to be not quite enough room for me to get my point across.

One thing I can't stand about text messaging is all of the abbreviations.  I wish people could still use the rules of the English language when composing their texts.  I don't understand why people are opposed to spelling properly or using proper capitalization. 

Text_message_abbreviations

The abbreviation the kids use that really drives me nuts is when they answer "K", as in OK.  I didn't realize it was such an ass-ache to type that one extra letter.
This entry was posted in Mac's Ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

