How Did I Get My Name?

Today’s Daily Post topic (from Plinky): How did you get your name?

When my mom was pregnant with me her oldest brother was serving in Vietnam.  He had just graduated from West Point and was shipped to Southeast Asia to fulfill his service obligation.  My mom decided she was going to name her son after him in his absence.  

This is in the era before ultrasounds so I’m not sure what her game plan would have been if I was a girl?

I guess my mom’s fear at the time was that my uncle wouldn’t be returning from duty and she used my name as a tribute to her brother. Luckily, my uncle returned home following his tour of duty in Vietnam and continues to be a part of her life to this date.

This entry was posted in Mac's Ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

