Biggest Lesson Learned Year-to-Date

Today’s Daily Post topic: What’s the biggest lesson you learned so far this year?

The biggest lesson I’ve learned so far this year is to stop procrastinating and start making things happen. I am a habitual day dreamer wondering what might be. As John Lennon once sang: “You may say I’m a dreamer, but I’m not the only one…”

I’m one of those people who feels the need to think things all the way through before taking action. I spend more time thinking and not enough time doing. I don’t have trouble making a decisions, but I’m lacking in the ability to get things in motion in a prompt fashion. I analyze things from every direction, consider the pluses and minuses, and internally debate all the consequences. I waste more time figuring out how to get started and it’s a terrible habit to have.

What separates successful people from others is the fact that they “DO” things. They put thought into place before starting a project but the make the effort to “START”, and once they do start, they continue to do the work that is needed to succeed. They have a belief in what they are doing and will overcome whatever obstacles get in their way.

I need to develop more of that mind set. It would be a great example for my three children to observe.

This entry was posted in Mac's Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

