Where Would I Like to Work?

Here’s today’s post topic: If you could work from anywhere, where would you want to live?

I’m guessing I’m going to attack this question from the wrong angle, but I’m actually quite happy with where we live.  Of places I would like to visit and take an extended vacation, Hawaii is probably at the top of my list.  I don’t think it’s a place I would like to live.  

Surprisingly, I value being near my family and I couldn’t imagine being that many timezones removed from those people that are important to me. I love that fact that almost all of my family lives within a couple hours ride from us.  Hell, most of them live within a 15 minute drive.  I love that both sets of inlaws live within 5 minutes of us.  I love the fact that my children see most of their cousins at least once or twice a week.  That kind of stuff is priceless.

As bad as the weather can get here in Southeastern Pennsylvania, I love the fact that we get to experience all four seasons of weather.  I love the heat of summer, the crispness of fall, and the snow of winter.  Spring seems to bring a great sense of renewal at just the right time each winter.  I think I live in a great area.

If I could change where I work, it would be to find the freedom to work from my house.  I don’t mind my job, but I do mind the fact that it takes me anywhere from 90-120 minutes in total each day to get back and forth from work.  That works out to 8-10 hours per week that I’m commuting back and forth to the office.  

There just has to be a better way to spend my time. Now to find that opportunity…

This entry was posted in Mac's Ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

